Honda AutoAcuraHonda CanadaNewsContact

Start Date

End Date

Apply Apply



Acura MDX luxury performance SUV accelerates to the top three for Canadian Utility Vehicle of the Year

MARKHAM, ON (January 24, 2014) – The Acura MDX luxury performance SUV has been selected as one of three finalists for Canadian Utility Vehicle of the Year by the Automobile Journalists Association of Canada (AJAC). Already named AJAC’s “Best New SUV over $60,000,” the all-new Acura MDX offers superior comfort and quietness, exhilarating dynamic performance, class-leading fuel economy and advanced safety features., the MDX delivers on its commitment to meet the needs of today’s luxury SUV buyers.

“The Acura MDX helped to create the luxury SUV segment and we’re thrilled to see AJAC recognize its continued segment leadership by choosing it as a finalist for Canadian Utility Vehicle of the Year,” said Dave Gardner, vice president of sales and marketing, Honda Canada. “The MDX, like all Acuras, is a ‘driver’s’ vehicle. The MDX’s unique blend of performance and luxury refinements makes it a worthy competitor in this segment and we’re looking forward to the final verdict.”

Last year, the 2013 Honda Accord triumphed as AJAC’s Canadian Car of the Year. The 2014 Canadian Car of The Year award winners will be announced in February at the Canadian International Auto Show in Toronto.

About the 2014 Acura MDX

The all-new 2014 MDX offers even higher levels of luxury comfort and quietness, together with exhilarating dynamic performance, class-leading fuel economy ratings, and advanced safety features, and an even more luxurious, technology-packed and versatile passenger cabin.  The MDX was developed on an all-new platform that is optimized in every respect for the needs of today’s luxury SUV buyers. Similar to its flagship sedan counterpart, the MDX harnesses a host of Acura signature technologies to deliver on Acura’s “Synergy between Man and Machine” product direction.

About Acura
Acura is the luxury-performance division of Honda Canada Inc.  The Acura lineup features six distinctive models including the RLX luxury performance sedan, the TL performance luxury sedan, the TSX sedan, the ILX compact luxury sedan, the RDX luxury crossover SUV and the MDX luxury sport utility vehicle.

About AJAC

AJAC is an association of professional writers, publishers and photographers whose focus is the automobile and the automotive industry. AJAC, a not-for-profit professional organization incorporated in 1981, was established to encourage unity among journalists who specialize in reporting on the automobile. AJAC manages the annual Canadian Car of the Year awards program.