Poor Starts Hurt Team Honda HRC at Foxborough Supercross

  • Fifth place in 450SX for Jett Lawrence, who shares the championship points lead
  • Hunter Lawrence notches a seventh-place result in premier class
  • After scoring career-first heat-race win, Chance Hymas finishes 12th in 250SX East

Following a welcome week off, AMA Supercross returned to action for round 13 in Foxborough, Massachusetts, where Team Honda HRC's racers rode well but were stymied by less-than-stellar starts in the main events. Jett and Hunter Lawrence were fifth and seventh across the finish line in the 450SX division, while Chance Hymas—despite notching the first heat-race victory of his career earlier in the night—ultimately tallied a 12th-place finish in the 250SX East main event.

Both Lawrence brothers were buried in the pack exiting turn 1 of the 450SX main event, with Hunter in 10th and Jett back in 14th, then up to seventh and 12th, respectively, by the end of lap 1. Jett made it into the top 10 on lap 5, and the top five on lap 12, ultimately missing fourth place by only .205 seconds at the finish line.

Hymas exited turn 1 of the 250SX East main event in 11th place and completed lap 1 in 16th position. He advanced to the top 10 by lap 6, only to lose ground again a couple laps later. Ultimately, a 12th-place result was the best he could manage, leaving him and his teammates hungry for redemption next week.


  • At the Foxborough round, the Team Honda HRC pits hosted an activation/display booth staffed by West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, Honda dealer Bettencourt's, who used the opportunity to display a Gold Wing and CRF50F, and to engage with fans and customers.
  • During daytime qualifying, Jett Lawrence logged the third-fastest lap time in the 450SX division, while Hunter Lawrence was sixth-best. In the 250SX East division, Chance Hymas was 10th best, while Fire Power Honda's Max Anstie was impressive with the fastest time.
  • Chance Hymas grabbed the holeshot in the first 250SX East heat race and led from start to finish aboard his CRF250R. It was the first heat-race win of the Idaho native's career. "I'm so stoked—this is a big motivation for me!" Hymas said afterward. Also advancing through this heat were TiLube Honda riders Henry Miller and Trevor Colip.
  • Max Anstie made it a Honda 250SX East heat-race sweep by leading the second outing from start to finish. Anstie's win was a nice gift for Fire Power Honda team owner Yarrive Konsky, who lost his father in the days leading up to the Foxborough race.
  • A pair of Red Riders advanced to the 250SX East main event via the last-chance qualifier: Luhovey Racing's Vinny Luhovey and TiLube Honda's Luca Marsalisi.
  • The first 450SX heat race saw Hunter Lawrence advance from fourth place early on to finish second, having overtaken Justin Cooper and Shane McElrath along the way.
  • In the second heat race, Jett Lawrence was third off the start and quickly moved by Jason Anderson. He passed Cooper Webb for the lead with two laps remaining and then took the win. Valley Automotive's CRF450R-mounted Jeremy Hand also advanced from the heat, via a ninth-place result.
  • Jett Lawrence's fifth-place finish meant he lost ground in the premier-class title chase and is now tied for the lead with Foxborough-winner Cooper Webb, with 261 each. Hunter Lawrence sits in 10th place, the same position that Chance Hymas holds in 250SX East.
  • Next up for AMA Supercross is the Nashville stop on Saturday, when Team Honda HRC 250SX riders Chance Hymas and Jo Shimoda will both be in action as the series hosts its first 250SX East-West Showdown of the year. Four rounds remain in the series.

Jett Lawrence
"This was not the end result we were looking for tonight. The bike felt great, and my riding felt awesome—I just couldn't link it with a start. I got a good jump, just slipped on a harder spot about 20 feet out. Unfortunately, in this class it's game over without a good start. That's a shame because I felt like I could be up front this weekend. We'll move on to next weekend."

Hunter Lawrence
"It was a bit of a disappointing race, as I wasn't the best version of myself—good data logging, though. We logged some laps and got some more experience, so that's a positive. We have some work to do on our starts to just give ourselves a better shot. On to Nashville!"

Chance Hymas
"Tonight was very up-and-down for me. Getting my first heat race win shows that I'm moving in the right direction, but I just didn't execute in the main. I got bumped around off the start, and when you're that far back, it's difficult to make the moves you need to. I'll take the positives from the day and look for a rebound in Nashville."

Lars Lindstrom – Team Manager
"It was definitely an up-and-down night for us as a team. We were all really happy for Chance to get that heat-race win, and we'll keep on working on the main-event result that he deserves. Hunter is gaining experience and momentum every weekend, and I'm really looking forward to the summer, because I think he'll be really good. Jett was great in his heat race, and I'm super confident that he can get the job done through these next four races."

450SX Results

  1. Cooper Webb (Yam)
  2. Chase Sexton (KTM)
  3. Ken Roczen (Suz)
  4. Jason Anderson (Kaw)
  5. Jett Lawrence (Hon)
  6. Eli Tomac (Yam)
  7. Hunter Lawrence (Hon)
  8. Justin Cooper (Yam)
  9. Justin Hill (KTM)
  10. Malcolm Stewart (Hus)

18. Jeremy Hand (Hon)

450SX Championship Points (after 13 of 17 rounds)

  1. Jett Lawrence: 261
  2. Cooper Webb: 261
  3. Chase Sexton: 246
  4. Eli Tomac: 231
  5. Ken Roczen: 222
  6. Jason Anderson: 206
  7. Aaron Plessinger: 198
  8. Justin Cooper: 161
  9. Justin Barcia: 149
  10. Hunter Lawrence: 148

12. Dylan Ferrandis: 107
18. Dean Wilson: 46

250SX East Region Results

  1. Haiden Deegan (Yam)
  2. Cameron McAdoo (Kaw)
  3. Tom Vialle (KTM)
  4. Pierce Brown (Gas)
  5. Max Anstie (Hon)
  6. Coty Schock (Yam)
  7. Daxton Bennick (Yam)
  8. Jalek Swoll (Tri)
  9. Marshall Weltin (Yam)
  10. Henry Miller (Hon)

12. Chance Hymas (Hon)
14. Trevor Colip (Hon)
18. Luca Marsalisi (Hon)
19. Vincent Luhovey (Hon)

250SX East Region Championship Points (after 6 of 9 rounds)

  1. Cameron McAdoo: 120
  2. Tom Vialle: 116
  3. Haiden Deegan: 107
  4. Pierce Brown: 105
  5. Coty Schock: 95
  6. Daxton Bennick: 86
  7. Max Anstie: 79
  8. Seth Hammaker: 72
  9. Jalek Swoll: 72
  10. Chance Hymas: 70

12. Henry Miller: 70
19. Trevor Colip: 23

# # #